Besner Wins at Charlevoix, Laverdiere clinches RSQ title

Jean-Sébastien Besner and Yvan Joyal won the classic Quebec Rally, Rallye de Charlevoix, after a event-long battle with both Steeve Hobbs and Karel Carré.

The three remained within one minute of each other through the first 8 stages of the rally, with Hobbs just 4 seconds behind Besner. But after pushing through a flat tire, Besner's performance was near-perfect, and Hobbs never caught up to the Quebec veteran.

In the end, Besner's victory left Hobbs and Philippe Poirier to settle for second, after a great event of their own.

Karel Carré and Samuel Joyal rounded out the overall podium in third, just ahead of fourth place finishers Simon Vincent and Hubert Gaudreau.

And while Vincent finished first in the RSQ category, Nicolas Laverdière might have had the best weekend of all.

Laverdière's second place finish in RSQ allowed him to clinch the 2017 championship, in his first year competing in a 4WD car.

Chris Greenhouse and Ryan Scott rounded out the RSQ podium, and were also the top-placed 2WD car at Charlevoix.

They were followed by Mathieu Leblanc and Alex-Samuel L'Italien-Leblanc in second, with Philippe Benoit and Pat Lévesque rounding out the 2WD podium in third.

With the RSQ Championship wrapped for 2017, the next major Canadian event takes place in Ontario - the Rally of the Tall Pines, in late November.